YWCA holds banquet

The Minot YWCA’s 20th Women of Distinction banquet will be held Thursday, beginning with a social at 6 p.m. and dinner at 6:30 p.m., in the Grand International.

Guest speaker is Shelly Weppler, Ward County commissioner and executive director of the St. Joseph’s Community Health Foundation.

This year’s Women of Distinction recipients are Margaret Hellebust, Yvonne Romine Schultz Lifetime Achievement; Kathy Gaddie, businesswoman; Jackie Velk, community service; Erica Gade, preschool-high school education; Kristi Berg, post-secondary education; Ada Lower, faith community; Jane Ell, professional; Bev Alex, volunteer; Katelin David, Young Women of Today and Tomorrow; Margo Helgerson, Bottineau County; Alyce Heer, McHenry County; Jude Iverson, McLean County; Alyce Spotted Bear, Mountrail County; Sharon Baker, Pierce County; Sonja Stromswold, Renville County; Mary Miller, Ward County; Domestic Violence Crisis Center, business/organization; and Grand Hotel, YWCA honoree.

Ticket information is available by calling the YWCA at 838-1812. Although pre-registration is not required, the YWCA requests that people pre-register if possible by Monday.

The event is the YWCA’s largest fundraiser and provides operating funds for a shelter for women and children along with programs and resources for residents.