Education briefly

School banquet set for May 19

The Minot Public Schools Retirement and Recognition Banquet will be held at 5:45 p.m. May 19 at the Grand International Convention Center. Thirty retiring employees will be honored and employees will receive years of service awards.

The public is invited to attend the banquet. Tickets are $13 each and can be purchased at the Minot Public Schools Administration Building, 215 2nd St. SE, until noon on Friday.

The employees that are retiring include: Bruce Anderson, Carol Anderson, Karen Barnes, Gail Bickler, Theresa Black, Shirley Brown, Norine Coffin, Cheryl Ekblad, Sharon Ell, Margaret Fleck, Gerald Fredriksen, Elaine Gartner, Pam Gehl, Betsy Gerhart, JoAnn Gudmunson, Leona Helgeson, David Jensen, Tobi Lynne, Jerry Lyon, Glee Mayer, Pat McNally, Judy Nelson, Gail Olson, Jody Petry, Patty Rasmuson, Debra Reinke, Barb Rice, Gary Samson, Bill Uscensky and Myra Ziegler.

The following recipients will be awarded District and Partner in Education Awards: Outstanding Service Award Debbie Sheldon, Homebound Program; Efficiency Award Blaine Burckhard and Steve Senechal, Transportation; Excellence in Leadership AwardJeri Grant, Magic City Campus; Instructional Performance Award Kaley Chick, Dakota Elementary; Partner in Education-Individual Award Josh Ressler, Minot Lions Club; and Partner in Education Organization Ryan Family Dealerships.

Employees honored for 20 years of service will include: Carol Anderson, Gladys Arnott, Kristi Behm, Rynette Burckhard, Kimberly Burns, Holly Eidsness, Julieann Gross, Nancy Fridley-Knutson, Lanae LaBonte, Sheila Leshovsky, Lana Martin, LaDonna Marten and Joan Nelson.

Employees honored for 25 years of service include: Deborah Fogarty, Shirley Frey, Penny Lunstad, Dennis Ness, Debra Rasmuson, Rogene Sovak and Susan Zimbelman.

Employees honored for 30 years of service include: Norine Coffin, Michael Fogarty, Pam Gehl, Lerri Giffey, Cheryl Hagar, Lynae Holmen, Jerlyn Langemo, and Paula Renfandt.

Employees honored for 35 years of service include: Cheryl Ekblad, Margaret Fleck, Steven Fogarty, Darlene Hurtovenko, Ernest King, Cynthia Neuharth, Ione Sautner and William Stevens.

Employees honored for 40 years of service include: David Jensen, Dorothy Johnson, Cheryl Lenton, Darrell Liebelt, Gerald Lyon, Ann Mueller, Craig Nansen and Diana Turner.

Tech ed staffers honor Bollingberg

An area educator has been honored as part of the North Dakota Association of Technology Leaders’ 2013 Technology Awards.

Nancy Bollingberg, Fessenden-Bowdon Public Schools, was named the winner in the “Tech Coordinator- Small Schools” classification. Bollingberg and the other honorees received their plaques at the Spring Conference in Fargo on April 12. The members of the NDATL are committed to the improvement of education through the use of technology. More information can be found at (