Average Yearly Progress report

The North Dakota Department of Public Instruction released 2012-13 statewide adequate yearly progress results last week for all public schools and public school districts in North Dakota. These reports identify a school’s or district’s overall student performance against certain key indicators. Statewide, 267 out of 456 schools failed to make AYP under the federal No Child Left Behind Law. Only schools that receive Title I funding are listed. Title I schools have a certain percentage of students from low-income families who are eligible for free and reduced price lunches.

Adequate yearly progress reports are generated based on student achievement in reading and mathematics on the state’s annual assessments, student attendance rates in elementary and middle schools, and student graduation rates in high schools. All school, district, and state performance rates are compared against approved achievement goals. Schools were required to meet those goals for subgroups of students, such as students from minority groups, students with disabilities and students from low income families, as well as for the student body as a whole. Schools didn’t make the mark if they failed to show progress in one or more categories.

Schools that fail to make AYP are required to take measures to correct problems, such as setting aside 10 percent of their Title I funding for teacher training or adopting a new curriculum.

Area schools that failed to make adequate yearly progress for the 2012-2013 school year included: Minnewaukan High School, Minnewaukan Elementary School, Maddock Elementary School, Warwick High School, Warwick Elementary School, Four Winds Community High School at Fort Totten, Bottineau High School, Bottineau Elementary School, Bowbells Elementary School, Powers Lake Elementary School, Powers Lake High School, Divide County Elementary School in Crosby, Killdeer High School, Killdeer Elementary School, Carrington Elementary School, Drake High School, TGU-Granville High School, TGU-Granville Elementary School, TGU-Towner Elementary School, Watford City High School, Watford City Elementary School, Alexander High School, Alexander Elementary School, Mandaree High School, Mandaree Elementary School, Wilton High School, Washburn High School, Washburn Elementary School, Max High School, Garrison High School, Turtle Lake-Mercer High School, Turtle Lake-Mercer Elementary School, White Shield Elementary School, Hazen Elementary School, Hazen High School, Beulah High School, Beulah Middle School, Beulah Elementary School, Edwin Loe Elementary School in New Town, New Town High School, Stanley Elementary School, Stanley High School, Parshall High School, Center-Stanton Elementary School, Rugby High School, Ely Elementary of Rugby, Devils Lake High School, Central Middle School of Devils Lake, Minnie H. Elementary School in Devils Lake, Glenburn High School, Glenburn Elementary School, Dunseith High School, Dunseith Elementary School, St. John High School, St. John Elementary School, Turtle Mountain Community Elementary School in Belcourt, Turtle Mountain Community Middle School in Belcourt, Turtle Mountain Community High School in Belcourt, Rolette Elementary School, McClusky Elementary School, McClusky High School, Bel Air Elementary of Minot, Bell Elementary of Minot, Edison Elementary of Minot, Erik Ramstad Middle School of Minot, Jim Hill Middle School of Minot, Longfellow Elementary of Minot, North Plains Elementary of Minot Air Force Base, Minot High School-Magic City Campus, Lewis and Clark Elementary of Minot, Roosevelt Elementary of Minot, Sunnyside Elementary of Minot, Washington Elementary of Minot, Nedrose Elementary, Burlington-Des Lacs Elementary School, Des Lacs-Burlington High School, Sawyer High School, Sawyer Elementary School, Surrey High School, Lewis and Clark-Plaza Elementary School, Fessenden-Bowdon Elementary School, B. M. Hanson Elementary School of Harvey, Hagan Elementary School of Williston, Lewis and Clark Elementary of Williston, Rickard Elementary of Williston, Wilkinson Elementary of Williston, Williston High School, Williston Middle School, Ray Elementary School, Eight Mile Elementary School, Round Prairie Elementary School, Stony Creek Elementary School, Tioga High School, Grenora High School and Grenora Elementary School.

Area school districts that failed to make AYP include: Minnewaukan, Maddock, Warwick, Fort Totten, Bottineau, Newburg-United, Bowbells, Powers Lake, Burke Central of Lignite, Divide County of Crosby, Killdeer, Carrington, Towner-Granville-Upham, McKenzie County of Watford City, Alexander, Mandaree, Wilton, Washburn, Underwood, Garrison, Turtle Lake-Mercer, White Shield, Hazen, Beulah, New Town, Stanley, Parshall, Center-Stanton, Rugby, Devils Lake, Mohall-Lansford-Sherwood, Glenburn, Dunseith, St. John, Mount Pleasant of Rolla, Belcourt, Rolette, Goodrich, McClusky, North Star of Cando, Minot, Nedrose, Des Lacs-Burlington, Sawyer, Kenmare, Surrey, South Prairie, Lewis and Clark, Fessenden-Bowdon, Harvey, Williston, Eight Mile, New School District No. 8, Tioga and Grenora.