Mankato falls in DII baseball title game

The Minnesota State-Mankato baseball team fell 8-2 to top-ranked University of Tampa in the NCAA Division II championship game Saturday.

The Mavericks (42-9) won the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference tournament in May and entered the national title game as the No. 2 team in the country.

Mankato coach Matt Magers won the program’s first national coach of the year award, named by the National College Baseball Writers Association. Senior pitcher Harvey Martin was named the national pitcher of the year by the NCBWA and Rawlings/ABCA.

Mankato was one of two NSIC teams to advance to the NCAA tournament. The Mavericks beat conference foe St. Cloud State to win the Central Region.