Crosby student elected Girls State governor

Hayley Lund, Crosby, was elected governor at North Dakota Girls State last week. Girls State, sponsored by the American Legion Ladies Auxiliary, is attended by high school juniors. It is held on the University of North Dakota campus in Grand Forks. The event teaches students about civics and government.

Other area girls who were elected to office during Girls State included Kendal Hendrickson, Cando, who was elected commissioner of insurance; Anne Hefta, Hazen, and Kady Rath, McClusky, who were both elected public service commissioner, and Kaytlin Werth, McClusky, who was elected a Supreme Court Justice.

Area girls who attended North Dakota Girls State last week also included: Kristin Reinowski, Anamoose; Katrina Aipperspach, Beulah; Kaylie Bjornstad and Kayla Weston, both Cando; Samantha Seehafer, Drake; Shania Grager, Hazen; Katherine McFadden, Killdeer; Shelby Bigelow, Makoti; Kayleigh Bordeleau, Minot; Hailey Smith, Parshall; Jacie Boe, Perth; Jessi Lagein, Rock Lake; Caitlin Good, Rolla; Karley Hansen, Ryder; Taylor Damman, Underwood; McKenna Foley, Velva; Haley Glasoe, Wildrose; and Tienna Johnson, Wilton.

Area participants elected to Boys State offices

Area high school juniors were elected to office during the annual North Dakota Boys State held last week in Wahpeton.

Area boys elected to office included Brandt Vernon, Hazen, who was elected secretary of state; Trenton McCloud, Rolla, who was elected state treasurer; and Trevor Boehm, McClusky, who was elected commissioner of agriculture.

Sponsored by the American Legion, North Dakota Boys State brings together outstanding young men between their junior and senior years in high school. Selected from schools across North Dakota, these delegates come to the NDSCS campus for a week of activities focusing on government and democracy.

At North Dakota Boys State delegates participate in hands-on learning activities including city and county government functions, disaster simulation exercises and the publication of a daily newspaper that is written and edited by delegates. In addition to this “learning by doing” process, delegates have the opportunity to experience speeches and debates from visiting dignitaries.

Area boys who attended Boys State this month included Dalton Trottier, Belcourt; Jeremy Watson, Bottineau; Hunter Stusynski, Carrington; Dakota Degenstein and Carl Hayes, both Hazen; Joey Peterson and Aaron Schenfisch, both Makoti; Joseph Rensvold, Minot; James Ziliak, Sherwood; Andrew Joyce, Tioga; Kyle Bott, Landen Leim, Kohl Miller and Cameron Slagg, all Turtle Lake; and Luke Odegard and Christian Thompson, both Wilton.