New officers also elected at awards ceremony

The Omicron Tau Chapter of International Nursing Honor Society, Sigma Theta Tau, at Minot State University recently held its annual awards ceremony and installation of new leaders.

Best Practices Awards are given annually to nurses who excel in their nursing roles, no matter where they practice nursing. This year best practices awards were given to Nikki Roed, MSU Nursing Department, and to Jennifer Woiwode, Trinity Mental Health Unit. Roed has been chair of the nursing department at MSU for two years, before that she served as vice president of nursing at Trinity. Woiwode is a recent graduate from MSU and practices in the Mental Health group at Trinity Health. She has been active also in “Walk Out of Darkness,” a local activity to call attention to suicide prevention.

New officers installed include: vice president, Linda Pettersen; treasurer, Heather Sys; and Nikki Medalen, board member. Thomas Seabolt and Judy Beck were installed to the governance committee. Jennifer Woiwode, Alicia Rossow and Melissa Fettig were added to the leadership committee.

Delegates to the 43rd Biannual Convention in Nov 2013 are Janis Neumann and Ashley DeMakis.