Dickinson duo claims classic

BEULAH – The winning team in the Dakota Walleye Classic is no stranger to the leaderboard. Clay Foss and Darnell Arndt of Dickinson captured first place in the July 26-27 event. They also took top honors in 2009 and finished fourth in both 2008 and 2011.

The Dickinson duo weighed in five walleyes totaling 21.28 pounds on Day 1, giving them a narrow lead over the team of Cody and Colton Anderson of Minot. The Andersons were just ounces behind with a five-walleye weight of 20.61 pounds. Third place after Day 1 belonged to Mike and Donnie Gietzen of Bismarck with five fish for 19.43 pounds.

The top effort on Day 2 came from a team that managed only 6.54 pounds on Day 1. Dean Smith of Zap and Donnie Dschaak of Beulah brought five walleyes to the scale weighing 19.14 pounds on the second day of the Classic. The catch boosted them up to 10th place in the final standings.

Foss and Arndt weighed five fish for 12.92 pounds on Day 2, far less than their Day 1 effort, and narrowly held off the Gietzen team, which had a second day catch of 14.28 pounds. When the weights were totaled, Foss and Arndt edged the Gietzens, 34.2 pounds to 33.71 pounds.

First place paid $12,000. A total of 177 teams participated.

Here are the top 10 teams and weights:

1 – 34.20 lbs., Clay Foss and Darnell Arndt, Dickinson.

2 – 33.71 lbs., Mike and Donnie Gietzen, Bismarck.

3 – 33.58 lbs., Robb Moore, Beulah, and Mitchell Weigum, Zap.

4 – 31.17 lbs., Cody and Colton Anderson, Minot.

5 – 28.91 lbs., Tim Berger, Mandan, and Kirk Vollmuth, Washburn.

6 – 27.00 lbs., Jeff Graney, Beulah, and Dan Frei, Hazen.

7 – 26.21 lbs., Jr. Carter, Mandan, and Scott Woodward, Glendive, Mont.

8 – 26.06 lbs., Dalon Dyke and Mark Ferrell, Baker, Mont.

9 – 25.72 lbs., Brett Nodland, Zap, and Tyler Smith, Mandan.

10 – 25.68 lbs., Dean Smith, Zap, and Donnie Dschaak, Beulah.