Honor the agreement

Larry Erickson, Minot; Gary Williamson, Minot; Wayne Sanstead, Bismarck

As members of the 1965 North Dakota Legislature, we introduced a bill to make Minot the home of the official State Fair. Other North Dakota cities were competing to be the host for the State Fair, but Minot won by a very close margin. In getting the necessary votes, we were helped a great deal by the officers of the Ward County Historical Society. Of particular assistance was the former Speaker of the House of Representatives Stanley Saugstad.

At that time there was an agreement that the Ward County Historical Society could continue to reside at the State Fair site.

We have been proud to watch the State Fair grow over the years. State Fair Manager Renae Korslien has been a real leader for the fair. However, we are very disappointed that the State Fair Board has seen fit to attempt to break the original agreement that allows the Ward County Historical Society to remain on the premises.

As the sponsors of the bill, we respectfully request that the State Fair Board reconsider and honor the previous agreement.