Velva voters select Shattuck

VELVA Velva voters elected Cindy Shattuck as president of the Velva City Commission in a special election Tuesday, called to fill the position after Ken Fox resigned from it in May.

The unofficial vote tally showed that Shattuck received 134 votes, followed by Dawn Lakoduk with 48, and Darren Johnson with 28. Shattuck had previously served as the commission president from 2002 to 2010 and is a credit manager with Verendrye Electric.