Society news and notes

CCND board members named

New officers and members of the Catholic Charities North Dakota board of directors have been named. Jerry Clark, Minot, was named vice chair. New members include Dianne Allmaras, New Rockford; and Steven Lies, Wahpeton.

The board is comprised of 22 members from across the state of North Dakota.

MHS FFA members win district awards

Minot High School FFA members won awards at the District Leadership competition on Sept. 30 at the Grand Hotel in Minot.

Brock Severson will be advancing to the state convention in June in the job interview category. Breeanna Llewellyn will advance to the state convention in June in the memorized public speaking category.

Fort Berthold CC to hold career fair

Fort Berthold Community College in New Town will hold a college fair on Oct. 16.

Colleges that will have tables at the event will be Minot State University, Dickinson State University, United Tribes Technical College, North Dakota State University, University of North Dakota, Lake Region State College, Fort Berthold State College, Dakota College at Bottineau, Minnesota State University-Moorhead, University of Idaho, University of Minnesota and Bismarck State College.

The United MHA Nation College Fair is co-sponsored by the National Coalition of Native American College Placement Services and the Fort Berthold Community College.

Golden Kiwanis holds recognition banquet

The Minot Golden K Kiwanis held their annual recognition banquet on Sept. 30 at the Holiday Inn Riverside. Guest speaker for the evening was Bill Lardy, Bismarck, past Minnesota-Dakota District Governor. Also speaking was Weyburn Niewoehner, lieutenant governor of District 1. Numerous awards were presented to members during the evening. The Vantine Life Fellowship was presented to Elvin Kabanuk, for his service to the club as the chairman of the Volunteer Committee. The Vantine Award is sponsored by the Minnesota-Dakotas Educational Foundation. The award provides scholarships for students in the Minnesota-Dakotas District of Kiwanis.

Officers for the 2013-14 year where installed by former governor Lardy. They are: President: Gary Ochsner; First Vice President: Allan Westphal; Second Vice President: Richar Leite; Secretary: Richard Sabol; Treasurer: Don Strube; Assistant Secretary-Treasurer: Donald Kasper; Past President: Weyburn Niewoehner. Board members for the upcoming year also installed are: Larry Crabbe, Robert Ellis, Michelle Hoaglund, Prace Ramsdell, Ruby Rau and Marlin Smestad.

The Golden K meets every Monday at 1:30 p.m. at the Holiday Inn Riverside. All are welcome to attend.

WSC dorm wins architecture award

Williston State College’s Frontier Hall won the Juror’s Choice Award at this year’s North Dakota Design Conference, which took place in Fargo on Sept. 17. The event is hosted by the North Dakota chapter of the American Institute of Architects, a national organization whose mission is “to promote design excellence in the built environment.”

Frontier Hall is the main residence hall on the Williston State College campus and provides housing for up to 170 students. It was built in 2010 by Comstock Construction LLC and designed by JLG Architects.

JLG Architects also received two other awards from the AIA for projects in Mayville and Grand Forks.