Society news and notes

WSC calf donors have until Dec. 30

WILLISTON — Those interested in donating a calf to Williston State College’s fourth annual Carcass Challenge have until Dec. 30 to do so.

Students in Williston State College’s agriculture program take calves donated from area livestock producers to Hovde Feedlot in Arnegard, feed them the same rations, and weigh and process them monthly and study the data. When they are ready to be processed, they are brought to Prairie Packing and sold as quarters, halves or wholes of beef. The proceeds fund the Ag Ambassador Program.

According to the college, the students will record genetic information on the donated calves that could be of benefit to the donors. Data includes the quality grades on carcasses. They give awards for the best gainer and the overall best carcass data.

Awards will be given on Dec. 7 during the agriculture department’s “Cowboy Christmas.” The event is open to the public and donors will receive free tickets to the event. Cowboy Christmas will include a prime-rib supper and live entertainment and the National Finals Rodeo will be shown live on the big screen. Awards will be given out for last year’s donors.

Those who donated to the third annual Carcass Challenge are: Aaron and Shelbey Jacobson of Noonan; Emmet O’Neil of Columbus; Bradley Rosenquist of McGregor; Jonathan Enget of Stanley; Helen Glasoe of Wildrose; Mark and Shelley Ellis of Williston; Brandon Erickson of Powers Lake; Gary Tande of Battleview; Curt and Nancy Severson of Cartwright; Lynn and Nathan Hovde of Arnegard; and Lee and Kim Murphy of Williston.

A number of donors have donated a calf to every Carcass Challenge, including the Jacobsons, the Ellises, the Seversons and the Hovdes.

More information on the Carcass Challenge can be found at (, by calling Kim Murphy at 774-6226, or by visiting the WSC Ag Department Facebook page at (

Students inducted into honor society

Minot High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society on Oct. 16 at Magic City Campus.

Senior inductees include Jeremy Boespflug, Tanner Daws, Dorian Franklin, Kacie Hamm, Ashley Hulme, Brittany Hulme, Bailee Koop, Hannah Marquardt, Mitchell Robinson, Shelby Taylor, Kourtney Wehrman and James Williams.

Junior inductees include Casey Brey, Michaela Burns, Ashley Clarkson, Zachery Danelson, Spencer Ellingson, Chanel Fjeldahl, Emily France, Jared Gladback, Christian Gunderson, Sean Gunderson, Dakota Halvorson, Savannah Harbaugh, Jordan Hester, Justin Kovich, Peter Mathistad, Reed McCarty, Mikole Moore, Cory Nehring, Ethan Nelson, Sara Olson, Garrett Picard, Patrick Schimke, Zachary Schwab, Nicolas Soltis, Zachary Tague, Liam Thrailkill and Melissa Williams.

Minot Camera Club competition results

The Minot Camera Club recently held its competition meeting.

The subject was action, and Steve Silseth of Minot had a clean sweep in all three divisions Monday. In color, his picture “Foxy” took first; in monochrome, “Tough to Make $100” won; and in artistic, “Busting a Berm” was the winner.

Other members having photographs that placed were: Richard Debertin of Berthold; and Arvid Carlson, Betty Nordstrom, Kyra Hansen, Holly Johnson and Judy Valgren, all of Minot.

The judge was Kim Fundingsland of Minot.

The meeting also included a program by Sassie Susie, in which she reviewed the photo triangle.