MHS cheer team captures state crown

FARGO – The Minot High School Cheer Team won the North Dakota Cheer Coach Association State Fall Competition on Saturday. The 24-member team captured the Class A Large Varsity title, performing a 2 1/2 minute routine that contained stunts, cheers, dance and tumbling. Bismarck placed second and Fargo South captured third. This is Minot’s first state title since 2009.

J’Kobe Wallace was the individual All-Around champion, while Kourtney Wehrman placed fourth out of 16 competitors. Also, Kayley Walter was named the Class A Jump Off champion, while Wallace placed second in a field of more 20 participants.

Other members of Minot High’s winning team are Heather Peckham, Cheyenne Marcellais, Jessica Bullard, Hayley Walter, Ashley Clarkson, Abby Howard, Emily Stauffer, Kayla Myers, Jazmine Rubio, Ciara Lunstad, Bridgette Morgan, Vytalli Klimpel, Allison Bean, Daniela Zafra, Dani Hughes, Faith Amsbury, Hannah Gault, Karissa Zumbo, Mataya Gustafson, Nyejha Bowen and MacKenzie Young.

The MHS cheer team is coached by Carly Gates, assisted by Sarah Magnuson.