Minot High cheer team places first at state event

The Minot High cheerleading team won the North Dakota Cheer Coach Association fall state competition Saturday in Fargo.

The 24-member team bested six other teams to capture its first Large Varsity Class A division title since 2009.

J’Kobe Wallace took home individual all-around champion honors, while Kourtney Wehrman placed fourth of 16 competitors in the event.

Kayley Walter won the Class A Jump-off competition and Wallace finished second out of 20 participants.

The other members of the MHS team are: Heather Peckham, Cheyenne Marcellais, Jessica Bullard, Hayley Walter, Ashley Clarkson, Abby Howard, Emily Stauffer, Kayla Myers, Jazmine Rubio, Ciara Lunstad, Bridgette Morgan, Vytalli Klimpel, Allison Bean, Daniela Zafra, Dani Hughes, Faith Amsbury, Hannah Gault, Karissa Zumbo, Mataya Gustafson, Nyejha Bowen and MacKenzie Young.

– Daily News Staff