Washburn excels at play contest

Area students won awards during regional one act play competitions held on Nov. 13.

At the Region 7 One Act Play competition held in Hazen, superior acting awards went to Delanie Weidrich, Hazen; Shawn Wagner, Center-Stanton; and Kayle Borner and Patrick Pochant, both Washburn. Awards for best stage crew went to Tristina Hintz, Center-Stanton; Ashly Miller, Wilton; Carly Benjamin, Center-Stanton; Coledward Young and Emily Giffey, both Garrison; and Jodi Clayton, Tyler Due, Tagen Bertolotto, Carly Freeman, Hunter Strickland, Caleb Weisgarb, Janetta VanderWal, Devin Wetterath, Megan Freeman, Jacob Oberlander and Parker Pochant, all Washburn.

Washburn High School won first place overall.

At the Region 9 competition in Williston, superior acting awards went to Jeanna Zenz, Watford City; Kass Longie and Kelsey Guttormson, both Tioga; Jordan Balvitsch, Kenmare; Nicole Hall and Shannon Walker, Alexander; Taylor Peterson, Burke Central; and Evan Wheeler, Ray.

Technical crew awards went to Gwen Becker-Johner and MaKayla Spellman, both Watford City; Jade Macasaet, Ilene Beasley and Chant Sanders, all Tioga; Abigail White, Delila Gilbert, Sarah Hall, Sierra Simonson, all Alexander; Kyle Greig, Zackery Beard and Heidi Knutson, all Burke Central; Austin Emly, David Larsen, Tanner Reinholdt and Shane Stomley, all Ray; Lexi Evenson, Kayla LaBar, Caitlyn Kucera, Ivette Daubenspeck, Colenso Alexander, Jonathan Maguire, Jamie Adams, Melody Taylor, Taylor Carleton and Alyssa McDougall, all Stanley.

Burke Central won first place overall, followed by Watford City High School in second place and Ray High School in third place.

At the Region 10 competition held in Dickinson, Rachel Funkhouser, Beulah, won a superior acting award. Technical crew awards went to Emilee Bauer, Emma Klindworth, Dillon Tollefson, Weston Cline and Jacquelyn Spier, all Beulah.