Society news and notes

Rensvold nominated for naval academy

Joseph Rensvold, a senior at Minot High School-Magic City Campus, has been nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy by Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D.

Rensvold has previously participated in the STEM Summer Program and the Summer Seminar Program at the Naval Academy. He is a member of a wide variety of activities including the Minot Air Force Junior ROTC program, National Honor Society and numerous varsity sports. While being involved in many extra-curricular activities, Rensvold has also been able to maintain an outstanding GPA.

Members of Congress are able to nominate students to attend the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo.; the United States Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, N.Y.; the United States Military Academy in West Point, N.Y.; and the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md. Final decisions on appointments are made by the service academies.

North Dakota students interested in applying to one of the military service academies for the 2015-2016 school year, should send in their applications by September 2014. For more information visit Heitkamp’s website at (

BNSF Foundation gives to Community Action

Community Action Partnership-Minot Region has received a $10,000 check from the BNSF Foundation for short-term housing assistance.

Amy McBeth, of Minneapolis, BNSF regional public relations director, presented the check to Connie Bounting, Community Action Partnership program manager, Nov. 14 at the organization’s office in Minot.

Bounting said the $10,000 will be used for renters’ security deposits to secure or maintain current housing. She said the funds will definitely help the program. For more information about the program, people can contact Community Action Partnership-Minot Region office in Minot.

Bounting said, to her knowledge, this is the first time the organization has received funds from the BNSF Foundation.

Community Action Partnership-Minot Region serves residents in Bottineau, Burke, McHenry, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville and Ward counties.

– Eloise Ogden