District 3 legislators to seek re-election

District 3 Sen. Oley Larsen and Rep. Andy Maragos, both R-Minot, announced Monday that they will seek re-election to their respective North Dakota legislative seats in 2014.

Rep. Roscoe Streyle, the other Republican legislator representing District 3, has not reached a decision on his candidacy.

Larsen was first elected to represent District 3 in the Senate in 2010. He is a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee and vice chairman of the Health and Human Service Committee. He currently serves on the interim committees of Health Care Reform Review and Health Services and is vice chairman of the Tribal and State Relations Committee. Larsen is an independent insurance agent and the founder of Oley Larsen 4 Insurance Co. in Minot.

Maragos has served District 3 in the North Dakota House of Representatives for nine legislative sessions. He is a member of the Judiciary and Political Subdivisions committees, and during the interim, he is serving on the Higher Education Funding, the Judiciary and the Legislative Audit and Fiscal Review committees. He also serves on the North Dakota Committee on Protection and Advocacy. A Vietnam veteran, Maragos is also a member of the American Legion and the VFW.

District 3 includes the region from east of Broadway in Minot to east of Surrey, including the area from Minot International Airport and south past Logan on U.S. Highway 52.

The District 3 endorsing convention will be held Feb. 17 in the Grand Hotel in Minot and will include selection of candidates to the North Dakota Republican Convention in Minot on April 4 to 6.