Cub Scouts grab checkered flag at pinewood derby

A 5-ounce block of wood, four wheels and a coat of paint, to a group of Cub Scouts, means one thing – the pinewood derby.

Cub Scouts, is a program of the Boy Scouts of America for boys in first through fifth grade. One of the most notable activities Cub Scouts compete in annually is the pinewood derby, where Cub Scouts work with their parents to carve a block of wood into a racing machine.

On Saturday at First Presbyterian Church, Cub Scouts from all over the Tomahawk District had the chance to claim the grand champion honor.

Each Cub Scout Pack has its own pinewood derby, usually before the district’s derby. But the Tomahawk District Pinewood Derby is where each Cub sees where he matches up with his peers.

The races were broken into groups corresponding with the program levels: Tiger, Wolf, Bear and Webelos. The top three in each level received recognition and advanced on to the final round.

The average of four heat races were compiled to get the fastest track time to determine the winners. The top three finishers were Grand Champion Dylan Henderson and runner-up Cole Tarasen, both from the Wolf division, and third-place Logan Skees, a Webelos member.

Division-level winners were: Tiger Level – Kaden Henderson, first, David King, second, and Otto Williamson, third; Wolf Level – Dylan Henderson, first, Cole Tarasen, second, and Dylan Helde, third; Bear Level – Reece Michl, first, Avery Dixon, second, and Bryson McBain, third; and Webelos Level – Logan Skees, first, Michael Kieffer, second, and Jackson Bohlander, third.

“The District pinewood derby is such a fun event for everyone,” said Kevin Mehrer, senior district executive of the Tomahawk District, in a press release. “All ages of Cub Scouts get a chance to prove if their car is the fastest. A lot of the kids just love the competition and getting to see their car come down the track.”

The Tomahawk District is home to over 20 Cub Scout packs, 1,000 Scouts and 300 adult volunteers. The district covers the communities of Minot, Burlington, Velva, Surrey, Garrison, Harvey, Kenmare, Bottineau and Rolla.