Academic All-State teams to be feted at tourneys

Members of the Gold, Silver and Bronze North Dakota Academic All-State Teams will be honored during the televised “Parade of Academic Champions” at the Class B Basketball Tournament in Minot on March 7 and the Class A Basketball Tournament in Bismarck on March 14.

High school seniors on the teams are nominated by their high school principals and compete for the honor on a statewide basis in both Class A and Class B divisions. Student selection is based on overall grade-point averages, ACT or SAT test scores, extracurricular activities, community involvement and leadership qualities.

Area members of the Class A gold team include Chloe Rickards, Minot High School-Magic City Campus. Area members of the Class A silver team include Erin Richards, Minot High School-Magic City Campus. Area members of the Class A bronze team include Reed Moseng and Chandler Vercher, both Minot High School-Magic City Campus. Area members given an honorable mention include Hannah Steffen and Austan Wellman, Devils Lake High School; Emily Beck, David Hurteau and Nicholas Lee, all Minot High School-Magic City Campus; and Amelia Bickler, Alyssa Hodenfield, Adam Kemp and Emily Lysne, all Williston High School.

Area members of the Class B gold team include Cole Peterson, Des Lacs-Burlington; Emily Miller, Glenburn; Kenady Martinson, Rolette; and Tonya Slaubaugh, Wolford. Area members of the Class B silver team include Brandt Vernon, Hazen; Bryjett Nordmark, Rolla; Kass Longie, Tioga; Brianne Halstead, Underwood; and Drew Peterson, Washburn. Area members of the Class B bronze team include Bethany Limke, Lewis and Clark-Berthold; Alex Krebs and Evan Mellmer, both Beulah; Rachael Fix, Bottineau; Hannah Alto, North Star at Cando; Jewel Williams, New Rockford-Sheyenne. Area Class B students who received honorable mentions include Bailey Neubauer, Bottineau; Douglas Winzenburg, Bowbells; Madison Wendel, Carrington; Megan Schwalbe, Center-Stanton; Drain McClintock, Drake-Anamoose; Megan Jones, Fessenden-Bowdon; Kendra Johnson, TGU-Granville; Jerissa Brockel, Harvey; Kimberly Ellwein, Hazen; Kady Rath, McClusky; Jess Asheim, Mohall; Kaska Weidman, Parshall; Taylor Nelson, Ray; Amber Jaeger, Rugby; Kali Miller, Surrey; Mattie Schmitt, TGU-Towner; Mitchell Liebel and Tori Williams, both Watford City; Sage Ballantyne, Westhope; and Brianna Weisenburger, Wilton.