Society news and notes

Minot Camera Club honors ‘People’s Choice’ winners

The Minot Camera Club recently hosted its annual “People’s Choice” night, which included several digital slide presentations by Steve Silseth of Minot. Ardelle Schmidt of Antler won the competition for both the Artistic and Color categories. Betty Nordstrom of Minot won the Monochrome category.

The subject for February’s competition was “transportation,” and Jason and Amy Gemar of Gemar Photography were the judges. Betty Nordstrom was a double winner with her photo “Sunset Cruise” in Color and “Traveling the Lonely Road” in Monochrome. Kyra Hanson of Minot took top honors in Artistic with her photo entitled “The Dirty Port.” Other members having photos that placed were Steve Silseth and Johnnie Gorthy of Minot, Richard Debertin of Berthold, and Ken Roed and Ardelle Schmidt of Antler.

Carrington High School lauded for readiness program by ACT

Carrington High School received an award for college and career readiness this week.

The North Dakota College and Career Readiness Awards were presented in collaboration with ACT. Criteria in each category reflect the student’s or the entity’s focus on the college and career readiness process.

The 2014 College and Career Readiness Campaign awards program is a means to recognize a student and also three other entities that embody or advance North Dakota’s commitment to preparing students for success. The state’s award winners will now be considered by ACT Inc. for overall recognition.

North Dakota will nominate its recipients for overall honors. An ACT Inc. committee will select one national recipient in each of the four categories; national award recipients will be recognized at the ACT National Gala on College and Career Readiness in Washington, D.C., on June 3. In addition to North Dakota, seven states are participating in the 2014 campaign: Alabama, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana, North Carolina and Wisconsin.

Heitkamp intern list includes students from Hazen, Minot

Area students are working as interns for Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D.

Thea Donovan, Hazen, and Josh Weatherspoon, Minot, are among seven current interns. Donovan graduated from Minnesota State University-Moorhead and is interning in Heitkamp’s Washington, D.C., office. Weatherspoon recently graduated from the University of Minnesota-Moorhead and is working in Heitkamp’s Fargo office.

“Interning gives students and recent graduates the opportunity to gain firsthand experience into how a U.S. Senate office and Congress functions. They will work alongside my staff to learn about the many ways we work to help North Dakotans,” said Heitkamp in a press release. “These interns will play a critical role in helping my office represent North Dakota effectively, and accomplish the things I was sent here to do. It’s always a pleasure having talented and enthusiastic young adults in my North Dakota and Washington, D.C., offices, and I hope they take full advantage of this opportunity to represent North Dakota.”

Heitkamp’s office offers student internships in her North Dakota and Washington, D.C., offices during the summer, fall and spring.

Successful candidates will be those who demonstrate leadership, thoughtfulness, creativity, a strong attention to detail and a sense of public service. Preference will be given to students who are from North Dakota.

To apply, visit (