Some from Minot area nominated for N.D. Cowboy Hall of Fame

MANDAN Several individuals and organizations from the Minot area are among the 20 nominees for this year’s North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame.

The names of the nominees in the nine categories were announced at the Hall of Fame’s trustees’ meeting held during the organization’s annual meeting Saturday in the Seven Seas Hotel in Mandan. Paul Christensen of Sawyer is chairman of the trustees.

The categories and nominees are as follows:

Cowboy Long Rider: Dean Kuntz of Sheyenne and Andy Moore of Blaisdell.

Livestock: Skoal’s Centennial and Top Hand.

Modern-era Ranching: Herb Natwick of the Upham-Bantry area and Stanley Pope of Bowman County.

Modern-era Rodeo: Gary Graham of Ross, Joan Hecker-Lennick, Wayne Herman and Jerry Weinberger.

Pre-1940 Ranching: Richard Moore and Albert Neidhardt.

Ranch: Brooks Hereford Ranch of the Minot area and Buddy Ranch of Medora.

Rodeo Arena: Emerson Chase of Fort Berthold Reservation and Ray Erhardt.

Special Achievement: Blaisdell Rodeo Club and White Earth Valley Saddle Club.

Pre-1940 Rodeo: William Hadden and Kenneth Krueger.

One in each category will be selected for induction in the N.D. Cowboy Hall of Fame, with the exception of the Modern-era Rodeo category in which two will be selected.

Trustees of the N.D. Cowboy Hall of Fame will vote on the nominees by mail-in ballot. Those selected will be inducted in the Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Medora in June.