11 N.D. college students to be awarded

BISMARCK Eleven North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2014 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. They will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony today in Wahpeton.

Members of the 2014 All-North Dakota Academic Team, their hometowns and the colleges they attend are: Dakota Hoots, Mandan, Bismarck State College; Jayme Pischel, Bismarck, Bismarck State College; Errin Ambers, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College; Chris Fixen, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College; Richard Juelfs, Breckenridge, Minn., North Dakota State College of Science; Michael Schmitt, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science; Tausha Rainey, Fort Totten, Candeska Cikana (Little Hoop); Myron Wanna, Jr., Fort Totten, Candeska Cikana (Little Hoop); Rebekah Fetzer, Williston, Williston State College; Megan Telehey, Williston, Williston State College; Jori Larson, Souris, Dakota College at Bottineau.

“These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement,” said Larry C. Skogen, interim chancellor of the North Dakota University System, in a press release.”Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that both the students and their colleges can be proud of. Clearly, students who attend North Dakota’s community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education.”

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team will receive a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Jack Dalrymple, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary and University of Jamestown also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.