More Highway Patrol troopers assigned to area

BISMARCK Four additional North Dakota Highway Patrol troopers have been assigned for duty in North Dakota’s oil and gas region, Gov. Jack Dalrymple announced on Friday.

The four troopers, who have completed law enforcement training, will be stationed in New Town, Dickinson, Parshall and Minot.

The N.D. Highway Patrol also expects to complete training for an additional 12 troopers by early June. Six of them will be assigned for duty in the Williston area; two in Killdeer and the remaining four scheduled for assignment in Watford City, Dickinson, Rugby and Velva. The troopers will also complete eight weeks of a field training program.

The 63rd Legislative Assembly appropriated $3.8 million to place 15 additional troopers on the state’s roadways, primarily in western North Dakota.

A graduation ceremony for all of the new troopers will be held July 25 in the National Energy Center of Excellence on the campus of Bismarck State College.