Sports briefs 03/16/14

Tauros crushed by Bobcats, 5-0

BISMARCK – The Minot Minotauros allowed four goals in the first period en route to a 5-0 loss to the Bismarck Bobcats on Saturday at the VFW Sports Center.

The Tauros (22-31-3) managed just 13 shots on goal compared to 36 for Bismarck (30-21-5). Tyler Dunagan scored twice in the first period for the Bobcats – the first on the power play at 10:32. Nate Repensky and Matt Perry also tallied goals in the opening frame.

Nathan Flynn scored 2:13 into the second to round out the scoring.

Minot would have clinched a playoff spot with a victory as Brookings suffered its fifth straight loss.

The Tauros host Brookings on Friday at 7:35 p.m. at Maysa Arena.

– Daily News Staff

Beavers win a pair in Arizona

TUCSON, Ariz. – Paul Vogelsong blasted his second homerun of the year in an 11-8 Minot State win over Dakota Wesleyan at the Kino Sports Complex.

Vogelsong went 2-for-4 in the game, scoring three runs and knocking in four.

Brock McCashland notched the win for the Beavers, going five innings while giving up nine hits and striking out seven.

The Beavers (6-6) also defeated Southwest Minnesota State earlier in the day 15-7.

-Daily News Staff

MSU extends

winning streak

CLERMONT, Fla. -The Minot State softball team recorded its fifth consecutive win Saturday, taking both games of a doubleheader at the National Training Center Spring Topurnament.

In the first game, despite surrendering two runs in the seventh inning, Minot State hung on against Assumption for a 5-4 victory.

Four MSU players tallied multiple hits, including catcher Melissa Bell, who recorded her first home run of the season to give the Beavers their fifth and final run.

Mindy Loirmor (6-3) pitched all seven innings for MSU. She struck out two while giving up four earned runs.

MSU played Ursaline College in the second game and won 15-2.

-Daily News Staff

Davies’ Kretchman wins Mr. Basketball

BISMARCK (AP) – Fargo Davies senior guard Tanner Kretchman has been named this year’s North Dakota Mr. Basketball.

Kretchman was one of five finalists selected for the award presented annually by the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association to the top senior basketball player in the state.

The 5-foot-11 Kretchman received 11 first-place votes and 61 points.

Kretchman averaged 29.2 points, five assists and 2.3 steals this season. He shot 52 percent and made 56 3-pointers. He scored a tournament-record 45 points in a first-round game at this year’s state Class A tournament.

Other finalists were Tyler Rudolph of Bismarck Century, Ben Weisbeck of Bismarck St. Mary’s, Tanner Holte of Des Lacs-Burlington and Briton Bussman of Milnor.

Kretchman’s Fargo Davies team is coached by 1991 Mr. Basketball Bart Manson.