Area leaders win League of Cities awards

Several area people were among those who won awards at the Municipal Government Academy awards ceremony during the North Dakota League of Cities’ 11th annual workshop March 25-26 in Bismarck.

Diane Hensen, council member for the city of Glenburn, received the 110 Percent Award and council member David Ashley received the Innovator Award.

Diane Fugere, auditor for the city of Burlington, received a Leader Award and Jason Vaagen, auditor for the city of Surrey, received a Leader Award.

“It takes real effort to achieve this honor,” said Nicole Peske, training director for the North Dakota League of Cities. “Their cities should be very proud of them and will definitely see the benefits of having individuals so committed to the future of their communities.”

The Municipal Government Academy’s Leadership Training Program recognizes city leaders for their dedication, time and commitment in making their communities better places to live. Award winners receive credits in the Leadership Training Program by attending conferences and training events sponsored by the North Dakota League of Cities.

Twenty-three LTP participants were recognized for achieving the first level or “Innovator” award (30 hours of training), 16 city leaders achieved the “Visionary” award (60 hours of training), nine individuals achieved the “Leader” award (100 hours of training) and four people reached the “110 Percent” award that requires 200 hours of training.

The North Dakota League of Cities provides service, advocacy, leadership, education and support for North Dakota’s 357 incorporated cities. The Leadership Training Program is the cornerstone of the League’s commitment to providing city officials with the tools they need to govern effectively.