N.D. Cowboy Hall of Fame includes area inductees

MEDORA An area ranch, rodeo and several individuals will be among the honorees for induction into the 2014 North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame. Inductees were announced Friday.

The area inductees and the categories include:

Brooks Hereford Ranch of the Minot area: Ranch.

Andy Moore of Blaisdell: Cowboy Long Rider.

Blaisdell Rodeo Club of Blaisdell: Special Achievements.

Emerson Chase of Fort Berthold Reservation: Rodeo Arena.

William Hadden of Sanish: Pre-1940 Rodeo

Wayne Herman of Dunn, Mercer and Stark counties, along with Jerry Weinberger of Breien: Modern-era Rodeo.

Skoal’s Centennial, a bucking horse owned by Lynn Linseth of Killdeer: Livestock.

Emerson Chase will be the third of the Chase brothers to be inducted in the Hall of Fame. Chase’s brothers, Joe Chase and Emanuel Chase were inducted in the Hall of Fame in previous years.

Other inductees this year are:

Richard Moore of Beach: Pre-1940 Ranching.

Stanley Pope of Bowman County: Modern-era Ranching.

The N.D. Cowboy Hall of Fame board of directors

reviews all nominations prior to the organization’s annual meeting in February in Mandan and presents the list to the organization’s trustees. The trustees vote on the nominees by mail-in ballots. Ballots go to Roene Hulsing, a certified public accountant in Dickinson, for tabulation by May 1 and the results are forwarded to Phil Baird, president of the N.D. Cowboy Hall of Fame’s board of directors.

The induction ceremony will be Saturday, June 21, at 1 p.m. MDT at the Tjaden Terrace in Medora.

Eloise Ogden