Society news and notes

Miss ND pageants in Williston June 5-7

WILLISTON – The Miss North Dakota Scholarship Pageant will be held in the Williston High School auditorium June 5-7. This year’s 65th anniversary event, presented with the theme “It’s A Beautiful Life,” will be the 28th year Williston has played host to the event.

Thursday and Friday feature preliminary competitions in talent, swimwear, interview and evening wear.

Also, the 21st annual Miss North Dakota’s Outstanding Teen Pageant, will be held Saturday, June 7, at 2:30 p.m. Sixteen young women from across North Dakota will compete for scholarships and the title of Miss N.D.’s Outstanding Teen. The winner will go on to compete for additional scholarships on a national level for Miss America’s Outstanding Teen July 29-Aug. 2 in Orlando, Fla.

Special guests at the pageants will be Miss North Dakota 2013, Laura Harmon, and Miss North Dakota’s Outstanding Teen 2013, Abby Wolfe. Miss North Dakota 2012, Rosie Savageau, will be a featured guest and entertainer.

To introduce a new component of the Miss America’s Outstanding Teen pageant system, Miss N.D.’s Outstanding Teen 2008/Miss ND 2011, Ariana Walker of Bismarck, and Miss N.D.’s Outstanding Teen 2012, Kaylee Seven of Williston, will be conducting workshops and training during a Princess Camp for girls in grades 1-6 who may be interested in competing in the future for Miss N.D.’s Outstanding Teen, beginning at age 13 through 11th grade. The Princess Camp training will be conducted Friday afternoon and Saturday morning for 16 young girls from across the state. The camp participants will be featured onstage in the Miss N.D.’s Outstanding Teen production during the June 7 Outstanding Teen pageant.

Tickets, available at the door, are $12 for adults and $8 for elementary and high school students. For more information, call Allen and Lavina Domagala, Miss N.D. Outstanding Teen directors, at 572-3698.

Special ed teachers selected for project

BISMARCK – The N.D. Department of Human Services’ Division of Vocational Rehabilitation has selected six secondary special education teachers and a youth transition specialist to participate in its 2014 Teacher Internship Project, which provides training on the supports and services available through the state’s vocational rehabilitation program for students with disabilities.

Area teachers selected include: Jamie Hardt, Independence Inc., Minot; Rachele Krebsbach, Divide County School District; and Kerrie Oster, Magic City Campus, Minot.

“This opportunity gives teachers a better understanding of how they can help students with disabilities be more successful as they pursue employment or post-secondary training,” said division director Russ Cusack.

The three-week internship begins June 11, and includes a three-day orientation in Bismarck focusing on disability-related legislation and regulations, the vocational rehabilitation process, relationship building, transitions and referrals. Throughout the internship, participating teachers will job shadow a vocational rehabilitation counselor to learn about client intakes, assessments, guidance and counseling and employment plans. They will also visit with local community partners to identify resources available to their students. Their final project includes the development of a resource portfolio to share with colleagues in their school, school district or special education unit.

Cusack said participants can earn three graduate credits through Minot State University for completing the internship experience.

The project is a joint effort between the N.D. Department of Human Services, the N.D. Department of Public Instruction and Minot State University.

For information about DVR services and supports, go online to (, or call 328-8950 or ND Relay TTY 1-800-366-6888.

Hazen’s Vernon gets merit scholarship

Brandt Vernon, a student at Hazen High School, has received a National Merit Scholarship funded by the University of Oklahoma.

Vernon plans to study law.

Approximately 2,500 winners of National Merit Scholarships received scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.

These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2014 competition to approximately 4,500.