Minot Camera Club hands out year-end awards

At the Minot Camara Club’s recent annual banquet and year-end award ceremony, Kyra Hansen was chosen as the Photographer of the Year and also shot the photograph that won Best of Show, “Going Out Tonight in My Red High Heels.”

The top photographer award is based on a point system, tracking the entries for the year and how they placed in the monthly competitions. The Best of Show award was chosen by a panel of three judges – Gaylen and Judy Ness, and Shawn Sipma, all of Minot.

Ardelle Schmidt of Antler was also a double winner. She placed first in the color division with her photo “I’ll Bee Back,” and also won the Rosemary Debertin Outstanding First Year Member Award. The Eileen McEown Outstanding Member of the Year Award was awarded to LaVonne Carlson of Minot. Both of these awards are voted on by the club members.

Steve Silseth of Minot took top honors in the Monochrome competition with his photo “Tough Way to Make One Hundred Bucks.” Hansen had the top Artistic entry with her photo entitled “Happy.” Other members who also had photos that placed were Holly Johnson and Betty Nordstrom, both of Minot.

The club will host two scavenger hunts this summer – one in June, the other in August. Their photos also appear in the Minot Public Library gallery throughout June, the group will enter photos in the state fair competition in July.

New officers will be Wendy Hornberger of Berthold, president; Arlene Schelling of Antler, vice president; and Autumn McGrath of Minot, secretary. Lisa Eriksmoen of Minot will continue to be N4C chairperson and LaVonne Carlson will continue as treasurer.