State Fair Parade winners announced

Winners of entries in the North Dakota State Fair Parade were announced Tuesday.

Jim Clifford, parade chairman, said about 100 of the 223 entries in the parade held Saturday were judged. Entrants pay $5 to be judged.

The winners, trophies and supporters of the plaques are as follows:

Roosevelt Park/Minot Zoo Crew electric train, Grand Marshal Award, overall winner, sponsored by Statoil Co.

Ackerman-Estvold, Chairman’s Award, best commercial theme, sponsored by Marketplace Foods.

Dakota Hope Clinic, Governor’s Award, best non-commercial theme, sponsored by Grand Hotel.

Dakota Blend Quartet, Flickertail Award, best marching musical group, sponsored by Verendrye Electric Cooperative.

Goldie Braaten, Pioneer Award, best antique vehicle, sponsored by Meiers Oil and Towing.

Cub Scouts, Youth Sweepstakes, best youth entry, sponsored by GEM Federal Credit Union.

White Shield Spirit Riders, Heritage Award, depicting N.D. heritage, sponsored by Gooseneck Implement.

MS Awareness, Roughrider Award, best equestrian award, sponsored by First Western Bank.

Dizzy, Cloudy and Friends, Parade Committee, most humorous, sponsored by Leader Bar & Grill in Stanley.

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 753 and Auxiliary, Lewis and Clark Award, best military unit, sponsored by 5-Spot Bar in Stanley.

Judges were Dee Johnson Ballentine, Tom Kempf, Scott Hopwood, Renee Escherich and Mary Bauer.