Beeter takes points lead following feature victory

You don’t need to tell Brock Beeter where he sits in the point standings. He’s more than aware.

Beeter knows who leads the standings, how far back he is to them and who else is in the mix. With the season winding down to its final few races, points are more valuable than ever.

Beeter entered Sunday trailing Brad King by six points in the International Motor Contest Association Hobby Stocks point standings. He now sits atop the standings following his feature victory at Nodak Speedway. He holds a three-point lead over King, who finished 10th.

“I’m aware of it every week,” Beeter said of the point standings. “Nobody’s got to tell me. In your mind each week you know how many points you got, how many you lose. You don’t forget.”

Starting 10th, Beeter moved into the top five after one lap. By Lap 3, Beeter was running second, though well behind frontrunner Ben Zietz. The Velva native built a sizable lead early, starting on the pole. But Beeter trimmed Zietz’s lead with each lap.

Lap traffic played a big part in the outcome as Beeter navigated his way to the front on the 10th lap when Zietz went up high on the track to avoid lap cars. Beeter never relinquished the lead and fended off Zietz by 1.693 seconds.

“Ben Zietz and I have the same motor,” Beeter said. “It’s a great motor. It’s the same, so you’re not going to out-horsepower somebody, so you have to wait for a flaw. I trust my gut enough when I’m in lap traffic to outsmart somebody. I was biding my time. Finally I saw the opportunity. He slid high for lap traffic and I made my move.”

While a win would have been nice, Zietz wasn’t complaining about taking second.

“I’m pretty proud,” he said. “I can’t pick a better person to lose to.”

Dana Brandt took third, followed by Cody Dignan, who started the race fifth. Kadi Ruby, sitting third in the point standings, took fifth.

Fans were treated to a double dose of the IMCA Modifieds. The Modifieds ran two features, the first a makeup from July 4 when its feature saw all but two of its laps washed away. Wayne Johnson edged Spencer Wilson by the slimmest of margins, crossing the finish line 0.008 seconds ahead of Wilson.

Allen Kent, Randy Conway and Shawn Anderson rounded out the top five.

Drew Christianson didn’t finish the first feature, completing 18 of the 25 laps, but he saved his best performance for the regularly scheduled A-main. Christianson capped off the night with a first-place finish to reclaim the lead in the point standings.

Wilson briefly held the top spot after beginning the day two points back of Christianson. Wilson took a six-point lead following the first feature, only to see that evaporate in a matter of hours. Christianson finished eight spots ahead of Wilson in the second feature and again leads by two points.

Steven Pfeifer, Travis Hagen, Travis Peery and Jerad Thelen rounded out the top five.

Michael Vennes withstood a flurry of late cautions to win the IMCA Stock Cars feature. Vennes had a comfortable lead with five laps remaining before the yellow flags began to pile up, leaving the rest of the field with a chance to catch the No. 22.

Rob Stenvold got a little overzealous in one of the restarts, spinning out Vennes. He was sent to the back of the field for causing the yellow flag and finished 10th.

Justin Striefel took second, finishing 0.623 seconds behind Vennes. Dalton Flory and Dave Swallers, who finished third and fourth, respectively, also finished less than a second behind Vennes. Nathan Burke finished fifth.

Shane Williams continues to add to his lead in the INEX Legends point standings, posting another win at Nodak Speedway on Sunday. Williams edged Steven Kuntz by 0.094 seconds and Donavin Wiest by 0.976. The feature ended under caution.

Williams increased his points lead to seven over Wiest in what is a two-man race for the title. Wiest is 34 points in front of Kuntz, who sits in third.

Jon Schumann and Drew Papke finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Drivers 2-6 all finished within two seconds of Williams.

A scary moment overshadowed the IMCA Sport Modifieds feature when Zac Lutz’s vehicle got airborne into the crash net on the first lap, bringing out a red flag. Lutz left the race under his own power.

After a lengthy delay, Burke emerged victorious, defeating Matt Lizotte, Justin Medler and Robby Rosselli by less than two seconds. Kelly Henderson grabbed fifth.

Medler began the night 17 points in front of Myles Tomlinson and 18 clear of Rosselli. With Tomlinson’s 11th-place finish, Medler now leads the point standings by 19 points over Rosselli.

Racing returns to Nodak Speedway on Sunday at 6 p.m. when all five classes are in action.

Mike Kraft covers Minot High athletics and general assignments. Follow him on Twitter @MKraft24_MDN.

Unofficial Results

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: 1. Dana Brandt, Minot; 2. Vance Tomlinson; 3. Ben Zietz, Velva.

Heat 2: 1. Brock Beeter, Minot; 2. Gary Goudy, Stoughton, Sask.; 3. Kevin Mattox, Williston.

Heat 3: 1. Cody Dignan, Kenmare; 2. Dennis Breivik, Williston; 3. Andrew Sebastian, Minot.

A-Main: 1. Beeter; 2. Zietz; 3. Brandt; 4. Dignan; 5. Kadi Ruby.

IMCA Sport Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. Tory Mack; 2. Matt Lizotte, Minot; 3. Robby Rosselli, Minot.

Heat 2: 1. Jon Lizotte, Grand Forks; 2. Dennis Chapman, Minot; 3. Kevin Eklund, Sawyer.

Heat 3: 1. Justin Medler, Minot; 2. Chase Conway, Minot; 3. Alan Bertsch, Minot.

Heat 4: 1. Erik Laudenschlager, Surrey; 2. Jeff Hooker, Minot; 3. Nathan Burke, Minot.

B-Main: 1. Robbie Conway, Westhope; 2. Brandon Beeter; 3. Myles Tomlinson; 4. Zac Lutz; 5. Isaac Sondrol.

A-Main: 1. Burke; 2. Matt Lizotte; 3. Medler; 4. Rosselli; 5. Kelly Henderson.

INEX Legends

Heat 1: 1. Troy Hoff, Flasher; 2. Donavin Wiest, Wishek; 3. Jon Schumann, Mercer.

A-Main: 1. Shane Williams, Minot; 2. Steven Kuntz; 3. Wiest; 4. Schumann; 5. Drew Papke.

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat 1: 1. Dave Swallers, Williston; 2. Nathan Burke, Minot; 3. Dalton Flory, Williston.

Heat 2: 1. Justin Striefel, Minot; 2. Michael Vennes, Minot; 3. Scott Yale, Minot.

A-Main: 1. Vennes; 2. Striefel; 3. Flory; 4. Swallers; 5. Burke.

IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: 1. John Flory, Williston; 2. Jerad Thelen, Bismarck; 3. Travis Hagen, Williston.

Heat 2: 1. Dallas Rice, Minot; 2. Jordan Huettl, Minot; 3. Wayne Johnson, Minot.

Heat 3: 1. 1. Eric Sinness, Williston; 2. Steven Pfeifer, Minot; 3. Spencer Wilson, Minot.

Heat 4: 1. 1. Drew Christianson, Minot; 2. Aaron Turnbull, Estevan, Sask.; 3. Troy Kittler, Turtle Lake.

*A-Main 1: 1. Johnson; 2. Wilson; 3. Allen Kent; 4. Randy Conway; 5. Shawn Anderson.

A-Main 2: 1. Christianson; 2. Pfeifer; 3. Hagen; 4. Travis Peery; 5. Thelen.

*Makeup from July 4