Candidates file for 4 seats on tribal business council

NEW TOWN The Three Affiliated Tribes’ Election Board has announced that 25 people have filed as candidates for the seats of chairman and three segment representatives on the Three Affiliated Tribes’ business council.

The official preliminary list of candidates are:

Chairman Lane Voco, Damon Williams, Waylon Good Left, Louis Kenneth Hall, Edmund Baker, Doreen Lyons, Randy Phelan, Tex Hall (incumbent), Mark Fox and Marcus Levings.

Four Bears segment representative Vonnie Alberts, James Brugh, Lawrence Baker, Alfred Smith, Wendy Wells, Frank Grady and Roger White Owl Sr. V. Judy Brugh, the current Four Bears representative, did not seek re-election

Parshall segment representative Ganius Little Soldier, Mervin Packineau (incumbent), Ramona Two Shields, Eloise Wells and Carolyn Spotted Horse.

Twin Buttes segment representative Cory Spotted Bear, Margaret Pfiefer and Jeb Fredericks. Barry Benson, the current Twin Buttes representative, did not seek re-election.

Each post is for a four-year term.

According to the tribes’ election ordinance, any qualified voter has three days to challenge the eligibility of any candidate by filing with the Tribal Election Board a notarized written affidavit stating the grounds for the challenge. Challenges must be filed with the board no later than Monday at 4:30 p.m.

The primary election is Sept. 16 and the general election is Nov. 4.