Tribal Election Board announces final list of candidates

NEW TOWN The Three Affiliated Tribes’ Election Board has released its official list of candidates certified as eligible to run for the seat of chairman and three segment seats in the Sept. 16 primary election.

The official list of candidates are:

Chairman Damon Williams, Lewis Kenneth Hall, Mark Fox, Randy Phelan and incumbent Tex Hall.

Four Bears segment representative Alfred Smith, Frank Grady, Lawrence Baker and Roger D. White Owl Sr.

Twin Buttes segment representative Cory Spotted Bear, Jeb Fredericks and Margaret Pfeifer.

Parshall segment representative Carolyn Spotted Horse, Eloise Wells, Gainus Little Soldier, incumbent Mervin Packineau and Ramona Two Shields.

Initially, a total of 25 people filed as candidates for the four seats.

The two qualified candidates who receive the highest number of votes for the particular position on the tribal business council in the Sept. 16 primary will be allowed to run in the Nov. 4 general election for their respective tribal business council seat.

If any candidate receives a majority of the votes cast in the primary election, that candidate, according to tribal Constitution and bylaws, will be declared elected to their respective office and no general election for that office will be held.